Dota 2

About Dota 2

Dota 2 is the sequel to the original Defense of the Ancients, community-created mod for Warcraft 3: Reign of Chaos. Matches are played between two teams of five players with teams occupying their own base on a map. Each player controls a hero with their own unique abilities and style of play. Players collect experience and items for their hero that provides them with the ability to battle the opposing team. Teams win the match by being the first to destroy the large structure in the opposing team’s base known as “The Ancient”.

Did you know?

The International is an annual Dota 2 tournament hosted by Valve, the game’s developer. In 2017, The International offered over 24 million dollars in prizing which holds the record for the largest overall prize pool in eSports.


  • Platforms: PC, OS X, and Linux
  • Typical match length: 20-60mins
  • Players: 5v5
  • Genre: Multiplayer online battle arena
  • Price: Free to play, optional cosmetic purchases
  • Notable tournaments: The International, ESL One, DreamLeague, The Summit
  • Publisher: Valve
  • Website:
  • Popularity: 1.29m players (Highest level of concurrent, all time)[1]
  • Released: July 2013
  • ESRB rating: Not rated

Tournament Information

Tournaments for Dota 2 can be played in a wide variety of formats. Many tournaments feature a group play stage before a cut to the playoffs. Other tournaments are conducted in a Double Elimination format.